Planning Applications Committee Agenda

1.30 pm Wednesday 3 June 2015 Committee Room No. 2 Town Hall, Darlington

Members of the Public are welcome to attend this Meeting.

- 1. To appoint a Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16.
- 2. To appoint a Vice-Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16.
- To consider times of meetings of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2015/16, on those dates as agreed on the calendar of meetings by Cabinet at Minute C128/Mar/15.
- 4. Attendance at Meeting.
- 5. Declarations of Interest.
- 6. To receive the Minutes of the meeting of this Committee held on 8th April, 2015 (Minutes enclosed).
- 7. Introduction to Procedure by Assistant Director Chief Executive's Representative.
- 8. Applications for Planning Permission and Other Consents under the Town and Country Planning Act and Associated Legislation (schedule enclosed).
- 9. **SUPPLEMENTARY ITEM(S)** (if any) which in the opinion of the Chair of this Committee are of an urgent nature and can be discussed at this meeting.
- 10. Questions.

PART II

- 11. Notification of Appeals The Director of Economic Growth will report that :-
 - (a) Messrs S, J and J Sam Ward, John Watson and John Sykes have appealed

against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for change of use of land to private gypsy site for stationing caravans for residential occupation with associated development including a shared access track, hard standing, landscaping and fencing between plots, utility blocks and installation of a septic tank, for 3 No plots at Plots 2, 3 and 4 Snipe Meadow, Snipe Lane, Hurworth Moor, Darlington (Ref No. 14/01154/FUL);

- (b) Mr David Ward has appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for change of use of land to private gypsy site including the siting of 2 No mobile homes, 2 No touring caravans and 2 No amenity buildings (revised application) at land at OSGR E428868 N521245 Aycliffe Lane, Brafferton, Darlington (Ref No. 14/00891/FUL); and
- (c) Mr Sean Sykes has appealed against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for change of use of land to private gypsy site for residential purposes incorporating the siting of a mobile home, 2 No. touring caravans and erection of an amenity building (revised application) at Land at OSGR E428868 N 521245, Aycliffe Lane, Brafferton, Darlington (Ref No 14/00879/Ful).

Recommended – That the report be received.

- 12. Notification of Decisions on Appeals The Director of Economic Growth will report that Inspectors, appointed by the Secretary of State for the Environment have :
 - (a) allowed the appeal by Mrs Jo Finney against this Authority's decision to refuse consent for works to fell Birch tree (T1) protected under Tree Preservation Order (no 7) 2009 at 18 Carmel Gardens, Darlington (Ref No. 14/0699TF)
 (copy of Inspector's decision letter enclosed); and
 - (b) dismissed the appeal by Mr Robert Burnside against this Authority's decision to refuse permission for the erection of detached chalet style bungalow for holiday accommodation (revised application) at Proposed Chalet, Skipbridge, Neasham Road, Hurworth Moor, Darlington (Ref No. 14/00106/FUL) (copy of Inspector's decision letter enclosed);

Recommended – That the report be received.

PART III

EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC AND PRESS

13. To consider the exclusion of the Public and Press:-

RECOMMENDED - That, pursuant to Sections 100B(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting during the consideration of the ensuing item on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in exclusion paragraph 7 of Part I of Schedule 12A of the Act.

- Complaints Received and Being Considered Under the Council's Approved Code of Practice as of 20th May, 2015 – Director of Economic Growth (report enclosed) (Exclusion Paragraph No. 7).
- 15. **SUPPLEMENTARY ITEM(S)** (if any) which in the opinion of the Chair of this Committee are of an urgent nature and can be discussed at this meeting.
- 16. Questions.

Paul Wildsmith
Director of Neighbourhood Services and Resources

26th May, 2015

Town Hall, Darlington.

Membership

Councillors Baldwin, Cartwright, Cossins, Galletley, L Haszeldine, Johnson, Kelley, Knowles, Lee, D A Lyonette, Regan, Stenson and J Taylor.

If you have any further queries on this agenda please contact Shirley Burton in the Democratic Services Section, Neighbourhood Services and Resources Group, during normal office hours 8.30 a.m. to 5.00p.m. Mondays to Thursdays and 8.30 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. Fridays (Direct Line (01325) 405998) or E-mail shirley.burton@darlington.gov.uk.