COUNCIL

24th November 2011

PRESENT – The Mayor; Councillors Baldwin, Carson, Copeland, Cossins, Coultas, Crudass, Curry, Dixon, Donoghue, Francis, Galletley, Grundy, Harker, Harman, Haszeldine, L. Haszeldine, C. L. B. Hughes, L. Hughes, Johnson, B. Jones, Kelley, Knowles, Landers, Lee, Lewis, Lister, Long, D. A. Lyonette, J. M. Lyonette, Macnab, Maddison, McEwan, Newall, Regan, E. A. Richmond, S. Richmond, A. J. Scott, Mrs. H. Scott, Stenson, C. Taylor, J. Taylor, Thistlethwaite, J. Vasey, Wallis and Wright.(47)

APOLOGIES – Councillors Hutchinson, Mrs. D. Jones, Lawton, Nutt, Swainston and York. (5)

ABSENT – Councillor Burton. (1)

- **38. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST** There were no declarations of interest reported at the meeting.
- **39. FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH** The Director of Resources submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to bestowing the Freedom of the Borough on two individuals who have rendered eminent services to the Borough.

The submitted report set out proposals to award the Freedom of the Borough to two individuals, and highlighted that Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 required the Council to pass an appropriate resolution, passed by not less than two thirds of the Members present voting, to confer the Freedom of the Borough at a Special Meeting convened for that purpose.

RESOLVED – (a) That the Freedom of the Borough of Darlington be conferred on John Williams and Alasdair MacConachie.

(b) That the Chief Executive be authorised to finalise the arrangements and liaise with the two individuals on a mutually convenient date on which to confer the Awards.

(Note: Over two thirds of the Members present at the meeting voted in favour of the above decision).

 ${\bf REASONS}$ – (a) To enable the Council to confer Awards.

(b) To comply with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.