COUNCIL

9th October, 2007

PRESENT – The Mayor; Councillors Armstrong, Chapman, Copeland, Coultas, Dixon, Francis, Freitag, Galletley, Harker, Hartley, I. Haszeldine, L. Haszeldine, Hughes, Johnson, B. Jones, Mrs. Jones, S. Jones, Lawton, Lewis, Lister, D.A. Lyonette, J.M. Lyonette, Maddison, McEwan, Nutt, Regan, Richmond, Ruck, A.J. Scott, Mrs. Scott, Stenson, Thistlethwaite, Walker, Wallis, Williams and York. (37)

APOLOGIES – Councillors Baldwin, Barker, Burton, G. Cartwright, M. Cartwright, Davies, Dunstone, Long, Newall, Nicholson, Roberts, Robson, Swainston and Vasey. (14)

ABSENT – Councillors Jenkinson and Lee. (2)

45. HONORARY ALDERMAN STATUS - FORMER COUNCILLORS HUTCHINSON AND MRS. BROWN - In pursuance of the power conferred upon this Council by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, a motion was moved and seconded that Clifford Giles Hutchinson and Sheila Mary Brown be each admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough in recognition of their long and eminent services to Darlington Borough Council, Darlington County Borough Council and the Borough of Darlington.

RESOLVED – That, pursuant to the power conferred upon this Council by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the title of Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Darlington be bestowed on former Councillors Hutchinson and Mrs. Brown.