## ANNUAL COUNCIL

21st May 2015

PRESENT – The Mayor, Councillors Baldwin, Carson, Copeland, Cossins, Crichlow, Crudass, Crumbie, Mrs. Culley, Curry, Dixon, Donoghue, Galletley, Grundy, Harker, I. G. Haszeldine, L. Haszeldine, C. L. B. Hughes, L. Hughes, Johnson, B. Jones, Mrs. D. Jones, Kane, Kelley, Kelly, Lawton, Lister, Lyonette, McEwan, Mills, Newall, K. Nicholson, M. Nicholson, Nutt, Regan, E. A. Richmond, S. Richmond, A. J. Scott, Mrs. H. Scott, Stenson, Storr, C. Taylor, J. Taylor, Tostevin, Wallis, Wright and York. (47)

APOLOGIES – Councillors Cartwright, Coultas and Knowles. (3)

- **1. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST -** There were no declarations of interest reported at the meeting.
- **2. MAYOR -** Consideration was given to the election of a Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

**RESOLVED -** That Councillor Thomas Nutt be elected Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

Following his election, the Mayor, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and :-

- (i) signed the 'Queen Victoria Diamond Jubilee Record Book';
- (ii) was invested with the Chain of Office;
- (iii) tendered his thanks to the Members of the Council for having elected him;
- (iv) announced his decision to support the local worthy causes during his term of Office; and
- (v) announced that his Mayoress for the Mayoral Year would be his wife, Mrs.
  Gill Nutt.
- **3. RETIRING MAYOR VOTE OF THANKS -** A vote of thanks was proposed to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

**RESOLVED -** That the cordial thanks of the Council are due, and are hereby tendered, to Councillor Gerald Lee and his Mayoress, Mrs. Ruth Lee, for the exemplary manner in which they have discharged the duties of the high office of Mayor and Mayoress of this Borough during the past Municipal Year.

In recognition of their services, the Mayor presented the retiring Mayor and Mayoress with medallions.

**4. DEPUTY MAYOR -** Consideration was given to the appointment of a Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

**RESOLVED -** That Councillor B. Jones be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2015/16.

**5. RETURN OF COUNCILLORS ELECTED ON 7TH MAY 2015** - Received – A schedule (previously circulated) of the Returning Officer that the under-mentioned persons had been elected Members of the Council and had made and subscribed their Declarations of Acceptance of Office, namely:-

WARD BANK TOP AND LASCELLES	<b>NAME</b> Veronica Copeland	ADDRESS 86 Eastbourne Road, Darlington, DL1 4ER.
	Wendy Newall	20 Eastmount Road, Darlington, DL1 1JY.
	Chris Taylor	31 Milbank Court, Darlington, DL3 9PF.
BRINKBURN AND FAVERDALE	Richard Grundy	8 Curlew Close, Darlington, DL3 0EQ.
	Rachel Mills	1 Greenrigg Close, Darlington, DL3 0EF.
	Sue Richmond	47 The Headlands, Darlington, DL3 8RP.
COCKERTON	Paul Baldwin	15 The Rise, Darlington, DL3 8HD.
	Jan Cossins	64 Nickstream Lane, Darlington, DL3 0DQ.
	David Regan	6 Marrick Avenue, Darlington, DL3 9UR.
COLLEGE	lan Galletley	'Fothergill', Raydaleside, Stanhope Road South, Darlington, DL3 7SJ.
	Tony Richmond	47 The Headlands, Darlington, DL3 8RP.
EASTBOURNE	Bill Dixon	8 Stanhope Road North, Darlington, DL3 7AR.
	Roddy Crichlow	7 Emley Moor Road, Darlington, DL1 4QQ.

	Kevin Nicholson	8 Barden Moor Road, Darlington, DL1 4LW.
HARROWGATE HILL	Gill Cartwright	3 Harrowgate Village, Darlington, DL1 3AA.
	Marjory Knowles	92 Coniscliffe Road, Darlington, DL3 7RN.
	David Lyonette	23 Harley Grove, Darlington, DL1 3HD.
HAUGHTON AND SPRINGFIELD	Chris McEwan	8 Millrace Close, Rivergarth, Darlington, DL1 3SQ.
	Andrew Scott	11 Cragwellside, Darlington, DL1 2TR.
	Nick Wallis	Meadowfield Cottage, Little Stainton, Darlington, TS21 1HN.
HEIGHINGTON AND CONISCLIFFE	Paul Crudass	81 Merrybent, Darlington, DL2 2LF.
	Gerald Lee	1 Greenhill Road, Heighington, Darlington, DL5 6RN.
HUMMERSKNOTT	Alan Coultas	39 Linden Avenue, Darlington, DL3 8PS.
HURWORTH	Charles Johnson	40 Caedmon Crescent, Darlington, DL3 8LF.
	Joe Kelley	2 Welbeck Cottages, Welbeck Street, Darlington, DL1 5EZ.
	Lorraine Tostevin	Stonegables, Norton Back Road, Sadberge, Darlington, DL2 1SU.
MOWDEN	Pauline Culley	20 Quantock Close, Darlington, DL1 2FG.
	Bill Stenson	178 Coniscliffe Road, Darlington, DL3 8PA.
NORTH ROAD	Anne-Marie Curry	17 Westbrook, Darlington, DL3 6TD.
	Fred Lawton	15 Woodland Terrace, Darlington, DL3 9NT.
	Dawn Storr	125 North Road, Darlington, DL1

2PS.

NORTHGATE	Sonia Kane	46 Montrose Street, Darlington, DL1 1JU.
	Eleanor Lister	15 Larchfield Street, Darlington, DL3 7TF.
PARK EAST	Cyndi Hughes	19 Oakdene Avenue, Darlington, DL3 7HR.
	Michael Nicholson	25 Coleridge Gardens, Darlington, DL1 5AJ.
	Malcolm Wright	23 Stanhope Road North, Darlington, DL3 7AP.
PARK WEST	Bob Donoghue	9 Ayton Drive, Darlington, DL3 8DN.
	Heather Scott	76 Carmel Road South, Darlington, DL3 8DR.
PIERREMONT	Bob Carson	132 Woodland Road, Darlington, DL3 9LR.
	Steve Harker	Elm Court, Tower Road, Darlington, DL3 6RU.
	Linda Hughes	54 Woodland Terrace, Darlington, DL3 9NU.
RED HALL AND LINGFIELD	Ian Haszeldine	206 Hundens Lane, Darlington, DL1 1JB.
	Lynne Haszeldine	7 Keats Court, Milton Street, Darlington, DL1 4YX.
SADBERGE AND MIDDLETON ST. GEORGE	Brian Jones	38 The Oaklands, Middleton One Row, Darlington, DL2 1BD.
GEORGE	Doris Jones	38 The Oaklands, Middleton One Row, Darlington, DL2 1BD.
	Steve York	32 Heathfield Park, Middleton St. George, Darlington, DL2 1LN.
STEPHENSON	Katie Kelly	19 Milbank Court, Darlington, DL3 3 9PF.

Jan Taylor 31 Milbank Court, Darlington, DL3

3 9PF.

WHINFIELD Helen Crumbie 148 Barmpton Lane, Darlington,

DL1 3HF.

Tom Nutt 7 Rivermead Avenue, Darlington,

DL1 3SG.

**6. ANNOUNCEMENTS** – There were no announcements made.

**7. APPOINTMENT OF A LEADER OF THE COUNCIL -** Consideration was given to the appointment of a Leader for the Council for a four year term of office.

**RESOLVED -** That Councillor Dixon be appointed Leader of the Council for a four year term of office.

**8. APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2015/16 -** The Director of Neighbourhood Services and Resources submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to the membership of the Cabinet, and the Planning Applications and Licensing Committees for the 2015/16 Municipal Year.

The submitted report stated that the remaining appointments to the Council's other committees will be made at a special meeting of Council scheduled to be held on Thursday 4 June 2015.

**RESOLVED –** (a) That the appointment of Members to the Planning and Licensing Committees, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be approved.

(b) That the appointment of Cabinet Members, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be noted.

**REASON** – To comply with the nominations received.

**9. PROGRAMME OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2015/16 MUNICIPAL YEAR -** Submitted – A programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council for the 2015/16 Municipal Year.

**RESOLVED -** That the programme of ordinary meetings be approved.