## **ANNUAL COUNCIL**

19th May 2016

PRESENT – The Mayor, Councillors Baldwin, Carson, Copeland, Coultas, Crichlow, Crudass, Crumbie, Mrs. Culley, Curry, Dixon, Donoghue, Galletley, Grundy, Harker, I. Haszeldine, L. Haszeldine, C. L. B. Hughes, L. Hughes, Johnson, B. Jones, Mrs. D. Jones, Kelley, Kelly, Knowles, Lawton, Lyonette, McEwan, Mills, Newall, K. Nicholson, M. Nicholson, Regan, E. A. Richmond, S. Richmond, A. J. Scott, Mrs. H. Scott, Stenson, Storr, C. Taylor, J. Taylor, Tostevin, Wallis and York.

(44)

APOLOGIES - Councillors Cossins, Kane, Lee, Lister and Wright.

(5)

**ABSENT –** Councillor Cartwright.

(1)

- **1. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST -** There were no declarations of interest reported at the meeting.
- **2. MAYOR -** Consideration was given to the election of a Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

**RESOLVED -** That Councillor Brian Jones be elected Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2016/17.

Following his election, the Mayor, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, and :-

- (i) signed the 'Queen Victoria Diamond Jubilee Record Book';
- (ii) was invested with the Chain of Office;
- (iii) tendered his thanks to the Members of the Council for having elected him;
- (iv) announced his decision to support four local charities during his term of Office: and
- announced that his Mayoress for the Mayoral Year would be his wife, Councillor Mrs. Doris Jones.
- **3. RETIRING MAYOR VOTE OF THANKS -** A vote of thanks was proposed to the retiring Mayor and Mayoress.

**RESOLVED -** That the cordial thanks of the Council are due, and are hereby tendered, to Councillor Thomas Nutt and his Mayoress, Mrs. Gill Nutt, for the exemplary manner in which they have discharged the duties of the high office of Mayor and Mayoress of this Borough during the past Municipal Year.

In recognition of their services, the Mayor presented the retiring Mayor and Mayoress with medallions.

- **4. DEPUTY MAYOR -** Consideration was given to the appointment of a Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2016/17.
- **RESOLVED -** That Councillor J. Taylor be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Darlington for the Municipal Year 2016/17.
- **5. ANNOUNCEMENTS** There were no announcements made.
- **6. APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES 2016/17 -** The Director of Neighbourhood Services and Resources submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to the membership of the various Committees for the 2016/17 Municipal Year, and the appointment of Chairs and Vice Chairs.
- **RESOLVED –** (a) That the appointment of Members to the various Committees, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be approved, with the exception that Councillor Baldwin be removed from the Place Scrutiny Committee, and that Councillor Ian Haszeline be appointed to the Planning Applications Committee.
- (b) That the Chair and Vice Chairs to the Scrutiny Committees, General Licensing Committee, Licensing Act 2003 Committee, Planning Applications Committee, and Audit Committee, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be approved.
- (c) That the appointment of Cabinet Members and their respective Portfolios, as detailed in the Appendix to the submitted report, be noted.

**REASON –** To comply with the nominations received.

**7. REPRESENTATION ON OTHER BODIES 2016/17 -** The Director of Neighbourhood Services and Resources submitted a report (previously circulated) requesting that consideration be given to representation on other bodies for the 2016/17 Municipal Year.

**RESOLVED –** That the nominations to the other bodies, as detailed in paragraph 6 of the submitted report, be approved.

**REASON –** To comply with the nominations received from the Political Groups.

**8. PROGRAMME OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2016/17 MUNICIPAL YEAR -** Submitted – A programme of Ordinary Meetings of the Council for the 2016/17 Municipal Year.

**RESOLVED -** That the programme of ordinary meetings be approved.