Committee details

Annual Council

Purpose of committee

The Council is currently composed of 50 Councillors, who meet together as The Council.

At the Annual Council Meeting, the Council elects the Mayor and Deputy Mayor. The Council also appoints the Cabinet and Councillors to its Scrutiny Committees, Regulatory and other committees. 

In an election year the Council elects the Leader for a four-year term.






Contact information

Support officer: Paul Dalton, Elections Officer, Resources Group. Email:  Paul.Dalton@[email protected] or Telephone 01325 405805