Your Councillors

The Council consists of 50 Councillors (Members) representing 20 Wards (24 Labour Group Members, 13 Conservative Group Members, 7 Green Group Members, 3 Liberal Democrat Group Members and 3 Independent Members).

Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They are democratically accountable to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those that did not vote for them. They receive an allowance for their work.

An annual Stronger Communities Fund of £1,000 is allocated to every Councillor. This can be used to support individuals or community groups who come within the terms of the scheme and the Councillor decides who should receive the funding. For more information about the scheme, you can contact [email protected]

All Councillors are required to abide by a Code of Conduct for Members and Co-opted Members to ensure high standards of probity in the discharge of their responsibilities. Any person may make a written complaint to the Council’s Monitoring Officer in relation to a breach of the Code.

To find your councillor please use the below links. If you are unable to contact a Councillor please contact Democratic Services (Tel. 01325 406444 [email protected]) who can forward a message to the Councillor concerned on your behalf.