Your Councillors by Party

The Council consists of 50 Councillors (Members) representing 20 Wards (24 Labour Group Members, 14 Conservative Group Members, 7 Green Group Members, 3 Liberal Democrat Group Members and 2 Independent Members).

Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They are democratically accountable to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those that did not vote for them. They receive an allowance for their work.

All Councillors are required to abide by a Code of Conduct for Members and Co-opted Members to ensure high standards of probity in the discharge of their responsibilities. Any person may make a written complaint to the Council’s Monitoring Officer in relation to a breach of the Code.

To find your councillor please use the below links. If you are unable to contact a Councillor please contact Democratic Services (Tel. 01325 406444 [email protected]) who can forward a message to the Councillor concerned on your behalf.



 Green Party

 Liberal Democrats